IndieView with Steven Sheiner, author of Running Still

I’ve already begun to hear the comparisons, which certainly isn’t a bad thing. And if I didn’t like something, or felt something needed to be changed for where the story was going, I would edit as I went along. Despite living a healthy lifestyle, within a year of the move, his wife and kids are diagnosed with a never before seen type of cancer. Each day was a new adventure. Jack will stop at nothing to get answers, and to save his family. He enlists a few of his friends to help him, but it is an uphill battle, a genuine David-vs-Goliath tale. This year I decided it was about time. Each day was a new adventure. Goliath type tale that spotlights the frightening power of Big Pharma and what can happen when billions of dollars are at stake. Do you have a marketing plan for the book or are you just winging it? With the help of some surprising and unexpected friends, he uncovers a conspiracy that is bigger than anything he could have imagined. Did you get your book cover professionally done or did you do it yourself? Are your characters entirely fictitious or have you borrowed from real world people you know? I am a big fan of John Grisham and James Patterson. But not Jack. South Florida
Where do you live now? As a father myself, there is no greater pain than the loss of a child. Were there any parts of the book where you struggled? A conspiracy on the grandest of scales. I prefer to let my imagination take me in a direction, rather than following a predetermined one that has already been laid out in an outline. South Florida
What would you like readers to know about you? When did you start writing the book? So to put it on paper and consider the emotion and feelings involved was tough. I didn’t know where the story was going until I wrote it, and I certainly didn’t have the ending mapped out. Don’t worry about what other people say or think. Do you edit as you go or wait until you’ve finished? My new novel is going to be quite different from my last. It was a combination. I spent the last 20 years as an Optometrist, but always wanted to pursue a writing career. More and more people are taking prescription drugs, and one day I just started to wonder if that was by design. That simple question became what is now Running Still. Was it a particular event or a gradual process? Once I started writing, I couldn’t wait to sit down again and keep it going. The gist of the story, the main characters, and some key things I needed to happen during the story. What are you working on now? Do you listen to music while you write? Ultimately, I created a rough draft of the design I had in mind, and let the professionals do the rest. I want to be able to hear my thoughts and ideas, and not be distracted by the music or lyrics. Share this:Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to email this to a friend (Opens in new window) It depends on the mood I’m in. It’s your story, your book, so don’t let anyone make it less than that. The designers I spoke to struggled to grasp the concept I was looking for. But why isn’t he? Before I sat down to write the book, I wrote two or three pages of notes. I can’t even imagine it. Do you have a target reader? Surprisingly, the story just flowed. And don’t stop until you’re happy with how it looks and reads. Put your ideas on paper and start writing. I was never really sure where the story would take me, so I had the same feeling of ‘what happens next’ as I hope the readers will. I do not. And, of course, once I was finished writing, I scoured over the entire book repeatedly. Absolutely. Get your copy of   Running Still from Amazon US or Amazon UK. But anyone who enjoys a good page-turner filled with action, suspense, intrigue, and even some conspiracy theory. Are there any particular authors that have influenced how you write and, if so, how have they influenced you? What came easily? End of Interview:
For more from Steven, visit his website, like his Facebook page, or follow him on Twitter. They are largely fictitious with perhaps a dash of reality mixed in. Steven Sheiner – 10 August 2017
The Back Flap
When Jack Turner’s wife and kids are diagnosed with a new form of cancer, he is baffled. For the most part, I like to write in silence. After that, I just sat down and wrote. I’ve always been health conscious and into fitness. If yes, what gets the fingers tapping? We all know how important it is for writers to read. I am focused largely on social media promotion, because I feel I can reach the largest audience in the least amount of time. It’s going to be a pulse-racing edge-of-your-seat story that will keep readers engrossed until the very end. But is it more than he can handle? About the book
What is the book about? Any advice that you would like to give to other newbies considering becoming Indie authors? I wanted to get my book out there as soon as possible. As I wrote, I read. If so can you please describe it? Running Still follows the story of Jack Turner, a former competitive runner, who moves his family from New York to small town. Fans of Grisham, Patterson, Michael Crichton and Robin Cook will certainly enjoy this book. Do you outline? I was never really sure where the story would take me, so I had the same feeling of ‘what happens next’ as I hope the readers will. Just do it. But what he discovers is more than he ever could have imagined. Did you hire a professional editor
I had several sets of eyes go over the book once it was finished, including my own. Three and a half months. I struggled with the death of a child. If so, do you do so extensively or just chapter headings and a couple of sentences? Now, suddenly, they are sick. I have, yes. About You
Where did you grow up? And how is there already a drug for this new disease? About Writing
Do you have a writing process? Filled with action, drama, and suspense, Running Still is a David vs. What made you decide to go Indie, whether self-publishing or with an indie publisher? Both. My goal was to create enough buzz, sales, and positive reviews to attract the attention of a traditional publishing house. Where did you get the idea from? As a former collegiate athlete, he and his family live a healthy lifestyle. About Publishing
Did you submit your work to Agents? There is no question their story-telling and writing style influenced mine. He will stop at nothing to get answers and to save his family. January 2017
How long did it take you to write it? Without giving away too many details, a good Samaritan does a good thing, but incurs the wrath of some rather unsavory people as a result.